Joint replacements are the #1 expenditure of Medicare. The process of approving these medical devices is flawed according to the Institute of Medicine. It is time for patients' voices to be heard as stakeholders and for public support for increased medical device industry accountability and heightened protections for patients. Post-market registry. Product warranty. Patient/consumer stakeholder equity. Rescind industry pre-emptions/entitlements. All clinical trials must report all data.
Please share what you have learned!
Twitter: @JjrkCh

Tuesday, July 15, 2014

Thursday, July 17: Senate Meeting on 1000 PREVENTABLE deaths a day:patient safety

Thursday, July 17 2014, 10:00a ET, 9:00a CT, 7:00a PT
430 Dirksen Senate Office Building
to view via livestream on July 17 go to the link above with the meeting announcement or:
CSPAN 2 (U.S. Senate) on cable TV
check Senator Bernie Sanders website
Panel I
         John James, PhD , Founder, Patient Safety America, Houston, TX 

         Ashish Jha, MD, MPH , Professor of Health Policy and Management, Harvard School of Public Health, Boston, MA 

         Tejal Gandhi, MD, MPH , President, National Patient Safety Foundation; Associate Professor of Medicine, Harvard Medical School, Boston, MA 

         Peter Pronovost, MD, PhD , Senior Vice President for Patient Safety and Quality and Director of the Armstrong Institute for Patient Safety and Quality, Johns Hopkins Medicine, Baltimore, MD 

         Joanne Disch, PhD, RN , Professor ad Honorem, University of Minnesota School of Nursing, Minneapolis, MN 

         Lisa McGiffert , Director, Safe Patient Project, Consumers Union, Austin

Subcommittee on Primary Health and Aging
Democrats by Rank
         Bernard Sanders (I) (VT)
         Barbara A. Mikulski (MD)
         Kay R. Hagan (NC)
         Sheldon Whitehouse (RI)
         Tammy Baldwin (WI)
         Christopher S. Murphy (CT)
         Elizabeth Warren (MA)
                  Tom Harkin (IA) (ex officio)
Republicans by Rank
         Richard Burr (NC)
         Pat Roberts (KS)
         Lisa Murkowski (AK)
         Michael Enzi (WY)
         Mark Kirk (IL)

                  Lamar Alexander (TN) (ex officio)

No comments:

Post a Comment